Sodium Bicarbonate Injection
Brand names: Sodium Bicarbonate
Category: Endocrinology/Metabolism, Gastroenterology, Pediatric
FDA status: Current, To Be Discontinued · Last FDA update: Nov 7, 2025 · First posted: Mar 1, 2017 (in shortage 9 years 7 months) · 5 manufacturers, 15 listed presentations
As of Nov 7, 2025, the FDA lists Sodium Bicarbonate Injection as being discontinued. Of 15 manufacturer presentations, 1 Unavailable, 3 Limited, 7 Available, 4 Not specified.
| Presentation & package NDC | Manufacturer | Availability | FDA note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sodium Bicarbonate, Injection, 2.5 mEq/5 mL (4.2%, 0.5 mEq/mL) (NDC 0409-5555-01) NDC 0409-5555-01 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Limited | Limited Supply Available. Next Delivery: May 2027; Estimated Recovery: June 2027; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay |
| Sodium Bicarbonate, Injection, 2.5 mEq/5 mL (4.2%, 0.5 mEq/mL) (NDC 0409-5555-02) NDC 0409-5555-02 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Limited | Limited Supply Available. Next Delivery: October 2026; Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay |
| Sodium Bicarbonate, Injection, 50 mEq/50 mL (8.4%, 1 mEq/mL) (NDC 0409-6625-35) NDC 0409-6625-35 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Unavailable | Next Delivery: January 2027; Estimated Recovery: March 2027; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay |
| Sodium Bicarbonate, Injection, 50 mEq/50 mL (8.4%, 1 mEq/mL) (NDC 0409-6625-14) NDC 0409-6625-14 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Available | - |
| Sodium Bicarbonate, Injection, 42 mg/1 mL (NDC 51754-5012-4) NDC 51754-5012-4 |
Exela Pharma Sciences, LLC | Available | - |
| Sodium Bicarbonate, Injection, 42 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-083-05) NDC 63323-083-05 |
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory. |
| Sodium Bicarbonate, Injection, 42 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-5534-14) NDC 0409-5534-14 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Not specified | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| Sodium Bicarbonate, Injection, 75 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-4916-14) NDC 0409-4916-14 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Not specified | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| Sodium Bicarbonate, Injection, 84 mg/1 mL (NDC 76329-3352-1) NDC 76329-3352-1 |
Amphastar Pharmaceuticals, Inc. | Limited | Available on allocation |
| Sodium Bicarbonate, Injection, 84 mg/1 mL (NDC 51754-5011-4) NDC 51754-5011-4 |
Exela Pharma Sciences, LLC | Available | - |
| Sodium Bicarbonate, Injection, 84 mg/1 mL (NDC 51754-5001-5) NDC 51754-5001-5 |
Exela Pharma Sciences, LLC | Available | - |
| Sodium Bicarbonate, Injection, 84 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-089-50) NDC 63323-089-50 |
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory |
| Sodium Bicarbonate, Injection, 84 mg/1 mL (NDC 81298-7620-3) NDC 81298-7620-3 |
Long Grove Pharmaceuticals LLC | Available | - |
| Sodium Bicarbonate, Injection, 84 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-4900-14) NDC 0409-4900-14 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Not specified | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| Sodium Bicarbonate, Injection, 84 mg/1 mL (NDC 0409-6637-14) NDC 0409-6637-14 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Not specified | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
Related medications in shortage
Other Endocrinology/Metabolism, Gastroenterology, Pediatric medications currently on the FDA shortage list — useful context if you and your prescriber are weighing alternatives. Always confirm with your pharmacist.
Change log
Tracking began Oct 1, 2026. We check the FDA every 6 hours; any real change - a manufacturer moving from Limited to Available, a new recovery date, a new listing - shows up here with its date.
Cite this: “FDA drug-shortage status for Sodium Bicarbonate Injection (FDA data as of Nov 7, 2025). Shortage Watch, openFDA.”
Get an email when this record changes
One email, only when the FDA changes something for Sodium Bicarbonate Injection. You confirm by clicking a link first (double opt-in). No newsletter, no other mail.
Feeds instead of email: RSS or JSON. Unsubscribe anytime; see Privacy.
Embed a live status badge: /badge/sodium-bicarbonate-injection.svg
FDA data last synced Oct 1, 2026 (FDA record dated Sep 30, 2026).