Bupivacaine Hydrochloride Injection
Brand names: Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Bupivacaine Spinal, Marcaine, Marcaine Spinal, Sensorcaine, Sensorcaine Mpf
Category: Analgesia/Addiction, Anesthesia
FDA status: Current, To Be Discontinued · Last FDA update: Sep 22, 2026 · First posted: Feb 20, 2018 (in shortage 8 years 7 months) · 8 manufacturers, 55 listed presentations
As of Sep 22, 2026, the FDA lists Bupivacaine Hydrochloride Injection as being discontinued. Of 55 manufacturer presentations, 4 Unavailable, 4 Limited, 45 Available, 2 Not specified.
| Presentation & package NDC | Manufacturer | Availability | FDA note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Marcaine, Injection, 0.75% 15 mg/2 mL (NDC 0409-1761-62) NDC 0409-1761-62 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Available | - |
| Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-464-31) NDC 63323-464-31 |
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | Unavailable | Estimated recovery: TBD |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-275-32) NDC 31722-275-32 |
Aspiro Pharma Limited | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-275-34) NDC 31722-275-34 |
Aspiro Pharma Limited | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-249-50) NDC 55150-249-50 |
Eugia US LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-167-10) NDC 55150-167-10 |
Eugia US LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-168-30) NDC 55150-168-30 |
Eugia US LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory |
| Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-465-57) NDC 63323-465-57 |
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory |
| Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-464-17) NDC 63323-464-17 |
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory |
| Sensorcaine, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-464-37) NDC 63323-464-37 |
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-752-25) NDC 70069-752-25 |
Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-752-10) NDC 70069-752-10 |
Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-752-01) NDC 70069-752-01 |
Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-723-52) NDC 71288-723-52 |
Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | Not specified | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-722-32) NDC 71288-722-32 |
Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | Not specified | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride PRESERVATIVE FREE, Injection, 2.5 mg/1 mL
5mg / 1mL (NDC 72266-263-10) NDC 72266-263-10 |
ONESOURCE SPECIALTY PTE LTD | Available | Distributed by Fosun Pharma USA Inc. |
| Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-466-31) NDC 63323-466-31 |
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | Unavailable | Estimated recovery: TBD |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-725-32) NDC 71288-725-32 |
Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | Limited | Meitheal Pharmaceuticals is distributor/labeler |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-726-52) NDC 71288-726-52 |
Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | Limited | Meitheal Pharmaceuticals is distributor/labeler |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-276-32) NDC 31722-276-32 |
Aspiro Pharma Limited | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-276-34) NDC 31722-276-34 |
Aspiro Pharma Limited | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-250-50) NDC 55150-250-50 |
Eugia US LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-169-10) NDC 55150-169-10 |
Eugia US LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-170-30) NDC 55150-170-30 |
Eugia US LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory |
| Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-466-37) NDC 63323-466-37 |
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory |
| Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-467-57) NDC 63323-467-57 |
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory |
| Sensorcaine, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-466-17) NDC 63323-466-17 |
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-753-25) NDC 70069-753-25 |
Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-753-10) NDC 70069-753-10 |
Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 5 mg/1 mL (NDC 70069-753-01) NDC 70069-753-01 |
Somerset Therapeutics, LLC | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 73293-0002-2) NDC 73293-0002-2 |
Huons Co., Ltd | Unavailable | Estimated recovery: TBD |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 71288-728-32) NDC 71288-728-32 |
Kindos Pharmaceuticals Co. Ltd. | Limited | Meitheal Pharmaceuticals is distributor/labeler |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-277-32) NDC 31722-277-32 |
Aspiro Pharma Limited | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 31722-277-34) NDC 31722-277-34 |
Aspiro Pharma Limited | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-171-10) NDC 55150-171-10 |
Eugia US LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 55150-172-30) NDC 55150-172-30 |
Eugia US LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory |
| Sensorcaine, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-472-37) NDC 63323-472-37 |
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory |
| Sensorcaine, Injection, 7.5 mg/1 mL (NDC 63323-472-17) NDC 63323-472-17 |
Fresenius Kabi USA, LLC | Available | Check wholesalers for inventory |
| Marcaine, Injection, 225 mg/30 mL (NDC 0409-2253-25) NDC 0409-2253-25 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Available | Historical NDC: 0409-1582-29 |
| Marcaine, Injection, 250 mg/50 mL (NDC 0409-0525-25) NDC 0409-0525-25 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Available | Historical NDC: 0409-1610-50 |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 125 mg/50 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1160-01) NDC 0409-1160-01 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 150 mg/30 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1162-02) NDC 0409-1162-02 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 225 mg/30 mL (7.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1165-02) NDC 0409-1165-02 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 25 mg/10 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1159-01) NDC 0409-1159-01 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 250 mg/50 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1163-01) NDC 0409-1163-01 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1162-01) NDC 0409-1162-01 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, 75 mg/30 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1159-02) NDC 0409-1159-02 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Available | - |
| Bupivacaine Hydrochloride, Injection, Bupivacaine Spinal 15 mg/2 mL (7.5 mg/mL in 8.25% dextrose) (NDC 0409-3613-01) NDC 0409-3613-01 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Limited | Limited Supply Available. Next Delivery: May 2027; Estimated Recovery: June 2027 |
| Marcaine, Injection, 0.75% 15 mg/2 mL (7.5 mg/mL) in Dextrose 8.25% (NDC 0409-1761-10) NDC 0409-1761-10 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Unavailable | Next Delivery: November 2026; Estimated Recovery: December 2026; Shortage per Manufacturer: Manufacturing Delay |
| Marcaine, Injection, 150 mg/30 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1530-01) NDC 0409-1530-01 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Available | - |
| Marcaine, Injection, 25 mg/10 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-2510-01) NDC 0409-2510-01 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Available | - |
| Marcaine, Injection, 50 mg/10 mL (5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-5010-01) NDC 0409-5010-01 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Available | - |
| Marcaine, Injection, 75 mg/30 mL (2.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-7535-01) NDC 0409-7535-01 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Available | - |
| Marcaine, Injection, Marcaine 225 mg/30 mL (7.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-2253-01) NDC 0409-2253-01 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Available | Historical NDC: 0409-1582-29 |
| Marcaine, Injection, Marcaine 75 mg/10 mL (7.5 mg/mL) (NDC 0409-1165-01) NDC 0409-1165-01 |
Hospira, Inc., a Pfizer Company | Available | - |
Related medications in shortage
Other Analgesia/Addiction, Anesthesia medications currently on the FDA shortage list — useful context if you and your prescriber are weighing alternatives. Always confirm with your pharmacist.
Change log
Tracking began Oct 1, 2026. We check the FDA every 6 hours; any real change - a manufacturer moving from Limited to Available, a new recovery date, a new listing - shows up here with its date.
Cite this: “FDA drug-shortage status for Bupivacaine Hydrochloride Injection (FDA data as of Sep 22, 2026). Shortage Watch, openFDA.”
Get an email when this record changes
One email, only when the FDA changes something for Bupivacaine Hydrochloride Injection. You confirm by clicking a link first (double opt-in). No newsletter, no other mail.
Feeds instead of email: RSS or JSON. Unsubscribe anytime; see Privacy.
Embed a live status badge: /badge/bupivacaine-hydrochloride-injection.svg
FDA data last synced Oct 1, 2026 (FDA record dated Sep 30, 2026).