Imipenem and Cilastatin Injection
Brand names: Primaxin Iv
Category: Anti-Infective
FDA status: To Be Discontinued · Last FDA update: Jan 8, 2026 · First posted: Jan 8, 2026 · 1 manufacturers, 1 listed presentations
As of Jan 8, 2026, the FDA lists Imipenem and Cilastatin Injection as being discontinued. Of 1 manufacturer presentations, 1 Not specified.
| Presentation & package NDC | Manufacturer | Availability | FDA note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Primaxin, Injection, 500mg (NDC 0006-3516-59) NDC 0006-3516-59 |
Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp. | Not specified | To be discontinued approximately 11/30/2026 |
Related medications in shortage
Other Anti-Infective medications currently on the FDA shortage list — useful context if you and your prescriber are weighing alternatives. Always confirm with your pharmacist.
Change log
Tracking began Oct 1, 2026. We check the FDA every 6 hours; any real change - a manufacturer moving from Limited to Available, a new recovery date, a new listing - shows up here with its date.
Cite this: “FDA drug-shortage status for Imipenem and Cilastatin Injection (FDA data as of Jan 8, 2026). Shortage Watch, openFDA.”
Get an email when this record changes
One email, only when the FDA changes something for Imipenem and Cilastatin Injection. You confirm by clicking a link first (double opt-in). No newsletter, no other mail.
Feeds instead of email: RSS or JSON. Unsubscribe anytime; see Privacy.
Embed a live status badge: /badge/imipenem-and-cilastatin-injection.svg
FDA data last synced Oct 1, 2026 (FDA record dated Sep 30, 2026).