Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release
Brand names: Carbatrol
Category: Neurology
FDA status: To Be Discontinued · Last FDA update: Dec 19, 2025 · First posted: Dec 19, 2025 · 1 manufacturers, 3 listed presentations
As of Dec 19, 2025, the FDA lists Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release as being discontinued. Of 3 manufacturer presentations, 3 Not specified.
| Presentation & package NDC | Manufacturer | Availability | FDA note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Carbatrol, Capsule, Extended Release, 100 mg (NDC 54092-171-12) NDC 54092-171-12 |
Takeda Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | Not specified | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| Carbatrol, Capsule, Extended Release, 200 mg (NDC 54092-172-12) NDC 54092-172-12 |
Takeda Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | Not specified | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
| Carbatrol, Capsule, Extended Release, 300 mg (NDC 54092-173-12) NDC 54092-173-12 |
Takeda Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. | Not specified | Discontinuation of the manufacture of the drug |
Related medications in shortage
Other Neurology medications currently on the FDA shortage list — useful context if you and your prescriber are weighing alternatives. Always confirm with your pharmacist.
Change log
Tracking began Oct 1, 2026. We check the FDA every 6 hours; any real change - a manufacturer moving from Limited to Available, a new recovery date, a new listing - shows up here with its date.
Cite this: “FDA drug-shortage status for Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release (FDA data as of Dec 19, 2025). Shortage Watch, openFDA.”
Get an email when this record changes
One email, only when the FDA changes something for Carbamazepine Capsule, Extended Release. You confirm by clicking a link first (double opt-in). No newsletter, no other mail.
Feeds instead of email: RSS or JSON. Unsubscribe anytime; see Privacy.
Embed a live status badge: /badge/carbamazepine-capsule-extended-release.svg
FDA data last synced Oct 1, 2026 (FDA record dated Sep 30, 2026).